Kentucky Maps & Facts (2024)

Kentucky Maps & Facts (1)

Kentucky is in the U.S. Commonwealth of Kentucky, the 37th largest state by land area. Kentucky is bordered on the north by Illinois, Ohio, and Indiana, on the east by West Virginia and Virginia, on the south by Tennessee, and the west by Missouri. Overall, Kentucky occupies 40,408 square miles.

The terrain of Kentucky is dominated mainly by gentle slopes, composed chiefly of Appalachians and Bluegrass regions. The Bluegrass region encompasses most of Central Kentucky and is known for its beautiful landscape and thriving equine industry. The Appalachian Mountains also run through Eastern Kentucky, forming some of the most rugged terrains in North America.

The state's waterways are dominated by the massive Ohio River, which forms its entire northern border; as well as by the Cumberland and Tennessee River systems, and their many spin-off lakes. Other significant rivers include the Salt, Green, Licking, Big Sandy, Kentucky, Cumberland, Tennessee, and the Mississippi River. The southwestern corner of the state includes the swampy lowlands of the Mississippi River flood plain and the state’s lowest point, at an elevation of 257ft. This area was purchased from the Chickasaw Indians in 1818, and has been named after Andrew Jackson as “the Jackson Purchase”. In addition to the rivers that intersect with it, Kentucky is home to two sizable lakes – Lake Cumberland in Somerset and Barkley Lake near Cadiz. Both maintain fish species that attract fishermen from across the U.S. annually.

Bordered by Lake Barkley and Kentucky Lake is a hilly, forested area spanning about 170,000 acres and is referred to as the “Land Between the Lakes” recreational area.

In the extreme southwestern corner of the state is the Kentucky Bend. Covering a land area of 45.2 sq. km, it was created due to the shift in course of the Mississippi River, after the New Madrid Earthquakes in 1811 and 1812.

The climate in Kentucky falls into three distinct categories: humid subtropical (in northern regions), temperate continental (in central parts), and humid continental (in southern areas). Summers are hot but moderate. Winters can be cold, with occasional snowfall in some areas. Moreover, precipitation is spread evenly throughout the year. The highest amounts occur more frequently during spring when average temperatures rise above 70 degrees Fahrenheit.

Counties Map

Kentucky Maps & Facts (2)

The State of Kentucky is divided into 120 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hanco*ck, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, Mason, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford.

With an area of 104,656 sq. km, Kentucky is the 37th largest and the 26th most populous state in the USA. Located along the Kentucky River is Frankfort – the capital city of Kentucky. It serves as the major trading center of the state’s Bluegrass region. Situated in the southeastern part of the state is Louisville – the largest city of Kentucky and also the 29th most populous city in the USA. It serves as the principal regional manufacturing center and hosts several companies and organizations of various industries. Louisville is the state’s chief industrial city that also supports a thriving shipping industry.

Where is Kentucky?

Kentucky Maps & Facts (3)

The State of Kentucky is located in the East-South-Central region of the Southern United States. The landlocked state of Kentucky is bordered by the states of Virginia in the east; by West Virginia in the northeast; by Tennessee in the south; by Missouri in the west; by Illinois in the northwest, and by Indiana and Ohio in the north.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Kentucky

Kentucky Maps & Facts (4)
Kentucky Maps & Facts (5)

See also:

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Kentucky
ISO 3166 Code US-KY
Capital City Frankfort
Major Cities
  1. Louisville (1,116,360)
  2. Lexington-Fayette (344,014)

This page was last updated on March 13, 2023

Kentucky Maps & Facts (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Jeremiah Abshire

Last Updated:

Views: 6424

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jeremiah Abshire

Birthday: 1993-09-14

Address: Apt. 425 92748 Jannie Centers, Port Nikitaville, VT 82110

Phone: +8096210939894

Job: Lead Healthcare Manager

Hobby: Watching movies, Watching movies, Knapping, LARPing, Coffee roasting, Lacemaking, Gaming

Introduction: My name is Jeremiah Abshire, I am a outstanding, kind, clever, hilarious, curious, hilarious, outstanding person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.